kasceshirts.blogg.se

Coast starlight timetable
Coast starlight timetable









coast starlight timetable

I arrived at the Dining Car shortly after it opened (6:30am) and was seated at a table. The next morning I woke up to watch the sunrise over Mt Shasta. ($30.75) I was too distracted by the conversation to get a photo. Instead I had the grilled chicken with mashed potatoes, garden salad, and salted caramel parfait for dessert and a Pepsi. I wanted to order the special sweet potato gnocchi, but I was told it had been discontinued.

coast starlight timetable

They were a lot of fun and the liveliest table of all my meals. They definitely cook some of the items on the train (I am guessing a lot of the items like salad and desserts are pre-made and then prepped on board).įor dinner I was seated with a party of three women traveling for work. It is definitely a few steps up from airplane food. Overall I was pleasantly surprised by the food. Soft drinks, coffee, tea, and water are all included for sleeper guests.

  • Cheese Quesadillas, Eggs & Tomatillo Sauceįor my first lunch, I had a garden salad, black bean & corn veggie burger with cheese and guacamole, and the flourless chocolate cake for dessert and a Pepsi.
  • Amtrak Signature Buttermilk Pancake Trio.
  • The Coast Starlight Menu is the same both days. Those in sleepers just pay for alcohol and tip (optional but highly encouraged). If you are not in a sleeper, you then pay at the end of the meal. The server then uses this to take and track your order. Upon being seated, you are given a form that you add your name, room number and car number to the bottom. Some of my meals were with people that were more social while other times people kept to themselves. Everyone understands that you will be seated with strangers and most people seem to enjoy getting to know one another. My first lunch I was seated with a couple from Las Vegas heading up to Seattle.

    coast starlight timetable

    Tables are filled as passengers arrive, and unless you are a party of four, you will be seated with other guests. The Dining Car manager seats you when you arrive for your meal. I picked a 12:30 lunch time which gave me enough time to get settled a bit before eating. Dinner reservations ran from 6:00-8:30pm on the first night and 5:00-6:00pm on the second night (due to arrival around 7:30pm in Seattle). Slots for lunch ran from Noon until 2:00pm on the half hour. She kept passengers in line in her dining car. She was quite sassy reminded more people than just me of the traditional grade school lunch lady. She did this before every lunch and dinner. Pretty soon after departing the station in Los Angeles, the Dining Car manager stopped by each room to take meal reservations. UPDATE: You can read about the more up to date dining on Amtrak in this post about dining on the California Zephyr from February 2020. For reference, I have included the price for the meal if it had not been included. All courses are included you only pay for gratuity and alcohol. Meals are served in the Dining Car or in your room as arranged by your steward. For the Coast Starlight from Los Angeles to Seattle, that works out to five meals (lunch and dinner on Day 1, breakfast, lunch and dinner on Day 2). One of the nice things about booking a Room or Roomette on Amtrak is that all your meals are included.











    Coast starlight timetable